New travel restrictions enter into force from 28th September

28. September 2020

On 24 September, the Government adopted a decision on restrictions on entry into the country, which will enter into force on 28 September. Restrictions on entry will be reintroduced for traffic between Finland and Estonia, Germany and Sweden, among other countries.

Restrictions mean that a 14-day self-isolation period is recommended for people travelling to Finland from the countries in question. However, from Monday 28th September, people will be able to come to work in Finland from Sweden and Estonia without a 14-day self-isolation period.

The list of restricted and permitted countries will be reviewed on a weekly basis and updated as necessary. Changes in entry restrictions will be made based on an expert assessment by the Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare (THL) using data from each Monday. The limit value of 25 new cases per 100,000 persons in the previous 14 days will apply to the EU and Schengen countries and the countries on the Green List defined by the Council of the European Union. Any changes will be decided on at the Thursday government session.

Travel restrictions do not apply to sea personnel and personnel related to the maintance of ships and cargo traffic.

More info about travel restrictions:

More guidelines for border traffic: